jump to navigation

My Own March Madness – part 5 March 31, 2006

Posted by becoming in Becoming Healthy.
trackback

My stay in Intensive Care was extended a day by the endrocrinologist, while he continued to tinker with dosages, trying to find a balance that suited him between two two kinds of insulin I was being given (one fast-acting, the other a 24-hour-type).

I gained a small personal victory in how I made the move upstairs to a regular room. I “walked”!! No, not up the stairs… but to the elevator, on and off there, then to my new room. The nursing staff on that third floor wing all knew where I was coming from and there were looks of genuine surprise on a few faces.

The next couple of days passed rather slowly. My cardiologist and my surgeon were both ready to send me home, but delayed my release until my endocrinologist could decide upon my “discharge dose” of insulin. He finally agreed on Sunday evening to set those the next morning.

At about 10:00 a.m. on Monday, March 20th, I called Lara at work and told her that she should probably be there in about an hour. FINALLY, at around 12:30 that afternoon, I was free.

I had been to the edge, to the very brink. I had been much closer to that precipice than I should have ever allowed myself to get. Much closer than I intended to be again until at least another fifty-one years have passed.

Now begins the long journey back. Back to health, back to vitality. Back to not merely functioning …back to living. If ever there was a time for self-examination, introspection, re-evaluation and such, it is now. I know it’s not going to be an easy road, but it is a road that must be travelled. I embark upon this with optimism reminiscent of what I felt before the surgery. I’m hopeful and curious. It’s going to be interesting to see what I’ll be becoming.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

