jump to navigation

The Needle and the Damage Done April 5, 2006

Posted by becoming in Becoming Healthy.
trackback

I don't like shots. I'm a manly man, though, and so I put on my poker-face when I know I'm about to receive an injection of whatever. If there's time, a preparatory deep cleansing breath. Often I'll opt to watch the insertion rather than looking away. Still, bottom line: don't like 'em.

Therefore, the prospect of injecting insulin into myself four times a day, every day, for the rest of my days holds no appeal for me. Neither does spending well over two hundred dollars a month for insulin and syringes. Shelling out $130+ per month just for testing supplies is more than sufficient.

In short, I want to "un-diabetic" myself.

At the very least, I want to become a non-insulin-dependent diabetic.

Is that too much to ask?

Before my heart surgery, I had never been told by a healthcare professional anything like, "Your blood sugar is a little high; you'd better keep an eye on that." And as part of various blood work done for various purposes, in the last six years or so I have had blood glucose checked on average at least once or twice a year. No, so far as I know, on March 16th I was a diabetic. On March 14th I wasn't.

I've tried more than once to discuss with my endocrinologist the long-term possibility that regular exercise plus significant (maintained) weight-loss could equal insulin independence, but he does not even want to talk about it.

So I've decided that I'm just going to do it. It's something that I'm going to work at until I achieve it. And once I do achieve it, that's a very special type of independence that I'm never going to give up again.

I'm up to walking 20 minutes twice a day now, and I will be increasing that progressively. I'm struggling some with portion sizes and late night snacking to keep the weight-loss going, but right now I weigh approximately 20 pounds less than I did a month ago.

I am also looking into nutritional supplements that have demonstrated the potential to increase insulin sensitivity [e.g., chromium, vanadyl sulfate, and alpha-lipoic acid]. I have begun taking "fish oil" for Omega-3 Essential Fatty Acids, and evening primrose oil for Omega-6 EFAs. I'll discuss more my personal supplementation program as it develops and changes. For now, one little tidbit:

Keen, H., et al. Treatment of Diabetic Neuropathy with Gamma-Linolenic Acid. Diabetes Care 16(1): 8, 1993.

This was a year-old British study of 111 diabetics to whom daily doses of 480 mg. of GLA [one of the Omega-6 Essential Fatty Acids] were given. The study concluded: "Administration of GLA to patients with mild diabetic poly-neuropathy may prevent deterioration, and, in some cases, reverse the condition."

Comments»

1. Lara - April 9, 2006

keep going, love. this is going to work!

especially since neither of us think you’re diabetic in the first place.

love,
Lara


Leave a Reply

